skip navigation


IWLCA Trailblazers

On October 21, 2017, the IWLCA and US Lacrosse dedicated plaques along the Chris Sailer Trail at USL Headquarters to honor eleven women's lacrosse Trailblazers.

Please scroll down this page to read about each Trailblazer (listed in alphabetical order) and see a photo of their individual plaque placed along the Chris Sailer Trail at USL headquarters.

Patricia Price Genovese (William Smith College, 1971-12)

Genovese started the William Smith program in 1972 and amassed a total of 385 wins and a .709 winning percentage over 29 winning seasons. She was honored as national Coach of the Year three times, mentored 94 All-Americans and coached seven national Players of the Year. She led the Herons to 16 NCAA tournament berths, 11 trips to the semi-finals, and five Championship game appearances. Genovese was also a teacher and administrator at William Smith and was tireless advocate for greater financial support, increased staffing, equitable facilities, and creating more opportunities for women in sport.

Tina Sloan Green (Temple University, 1973-92)

The first African American head coach in the history of women's intercollegiate lacrosse, Sloan Green compiled a 207-62-4 career coaching record with a .758 career winning percentage. She guided Temple to three National Championships and 11 consecutive NCAA Final Four appearances. Sloan Green has authored two book and co-founded the Black Women in Sport Foundation (BWSF). She was a member of the US National Teams program from 1969-71 and played on touring teams from Australia-New Zealand in 1969 and Great Britain-Northern Ireland in 1970.

Caroline Haussermann (William & Mary, 1964-71; Pennsylvania, 1972-73)

In addition to starting the program at W&M and coaching at Penn, Haussermann served as President of the Virginia Women’s Lacrosse Association and spurred its growth. She was the USWLA President from 1968-74, and became its first Executive Director in 1986, serving until 1990. As an owner of Camp Merestead, Haussermann trained nearly 1,500 campers per year and mentored a staff of 500 coaches. She was also a nationally rated umpire for 20 years.

Kathy Heinze (Wilson 1965-70, Dickinson 1975-76, Shippensburg 1976-78)

She started the lacrosse program at Dickinson College in 1976 and at Shippensburg University in 1977. Heinz was the coach of the U.S. Team from 1973-77, including the 1975 U.S. touring team that traveled to Great Britain and returned 13-0 after proving themselves the top team in the world. She was the founder and President of Central Penn Lacrosse club, served as Secretary and President of the USWLA, and was an internationally rated umpire.

Carole Kleinfelder (Harvard University 1979-03)

Kleinfelder was the first President of the IWLCA, after its founding in 1982. Her Harvard team won the 1990 NCAA Tournament Championship, posting a perfect 15-0 record. Kleinfelder put together an impressive 260-132-3 overall record while capturing 12 Ivy League Championships (109-67-1 in conference play). Kleinfelder is widely regarded as a champion for women's rights and Title IX, an innovator in terms of strategy, and an inspiring mentor to her players and other coaches. Her most lasting effect on the game may have been designing the first molded head stick for women. The head coaching position at Harvard is endowed in her name, the first funded entirely by women.

Gillian Rattray (Penn State 1972-85)

Rattray chaired the committee that created the first USWLA College Division National Championship. Her Penn State teams won the USWLA title in 1978, 1979, and 1980. Under Rattray’s guidance, Penn State directed and hosted the first AIAW National Championship in 1981 for all three divisions. Her teams were NCAA semi-finalists in 1983 and 1985. Rattray was listed in the Guinness Book of World Records for being the first coach to win national championships in two different sports during the same year (1980). She also served as assistant professor of kinesiology in the College of Health, Physical Education and Recreation until retiring in 1997.

Sue Stahl (Ursinus 1971-81, Temple, 1983-90, Old Dominion 1990-11)

Stahl won three Colonial Athletic Association championships and was named CAA Coach of the Year in 1995. She was the head coach of the U.S. women’s national team from 1998-2005 and was honored as the Outstanding World Cup Coach by the IFWLA in 1997. Stahl coached the U.S. World Cup Team to four consecutive championships in 1989, 1993, 1997 and 2001. Inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1999, Stahl was awarded with the Diane Geppi Aikens Award by the IWLCA and the Nancy Chance Award by US Lacrosse.

Sue Tyler (Cornell 1969-72; Maryland 1974 and 1979-90)

Tyler coached in nine national championship games and won the AIAW Championship in 1981 and the NCAA Championship in 1986. She posted a career 196-71-3 coaching record and was voted Coach of the year in 1984 and 1986. Tyler transitioned to athletic administration, serving as an Associate Athletic Director at the University of Maryland and as Athletic Director at University of Maine. She was an assistant coach for the U.S. National Team and served on the NCAA women’s lacrosse committee, while also serving in volunteer leadership roles with the USWLA and US Lacrosse.

Lanetta Ware (Hollins College 1962-84)

Ware led Hollins to two state championships and the runner-up position in the 1979 USWLA national championship. She officiated for 28 years at the collegiate level, and was the technical delegate for umpiring at the 1986 and 1989 World Cups. Ware served as the First Vice-President for the USWLA from 1980-86 and served as a first Vice President and President for the IFWLA, helping spearhead the international growth of the game.

Marge Watson (Ursinus 1957-81)

Watson started the Ursinus College program and posted a 199-19-9 record. Her career winning percentage (.896) ranks second all-time among collegiate coaches. Watson’s teams posted seven undefeated seasons, along with runner-up finishes in the 1979 USWLA National Tournament and the 1981 AIAW National Championship. Watson helped to found the Philadelphia Colleges Women’s Lacrosse Association in 1970. She was named the inaugural recipient of the IWLCA Lifetime Achievement Award (currently known as the Diane Geppi-Aikens Award) in 2000. Watson was inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2014.

Judy Wolstenholme (West Chester University 1968-77)

Her teams only lost one game during her nine-year tenure at West Chester. She has officiated over 50 international matches, including the 1982 and 1986 World Cups. Wolstenholme is the first person to officiate NCAA Division I Championships in three different sports - 14 Lacrosse Final Fours, 13 Field Hockey Final Fours, and one Basketball Final Four. She played for the U.S. first team in lacrosse for nine years and also played for seven years on the U.S field hockey team, including in the 1967 World Cup. She was very active in the USWLA and attended every National Tournament from 1962 until her retirement.

Watch the IWLCA Trailblazer Dedication Ceremony below.