skip navigation

IWLCA Names 2018 Hall of Fame Class

By IWLCA Admin, 09/13/18, 2:00PM EDT


The Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association has selected three coaches for induction into the organization’s 2018 Hall of Fame class. The class will be formally enshrined on Thursday, November 15 during the IWLCA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony during the IWLCA Annual Meetings at Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

The 2018 class is comprised of Patricia Price Genovese, Gillian Rattray, and Sue Tyler. The class was chosen by the IWLCA’s Hall of Fame committee, chaired by Princeton University head coach Chris Sailer.

“The Hall of Fame committee put a lot of thoughtful consideration into selecting this class of honorees,” said Kathy Taylor, President of the IWLCA and head coach at Le Moyne College. “There have been so many great coaches in the history of the women’s collegiate game, and it’s no easy feat to identify the best. However, when you consider the achievements and the impact of this group of women on our sport, it becomes very easy to see exactly why they were chosen for this honor. We are very grateful for their contributions and are looking forward to celebrating them with the highest honor the IWLCA can bestow.”

Tickets for the 2018 IWLCA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are now available for purchase online and will remain on-sale through November 7, 2018. The IWLCA Hall of Fame was established in May 2017 to recognize and honor outstanding career achievements by collegiate women's lacrosse coaches. The class of 2018 will be the second class of honorees to be inducted.

2018 Hall of Fame Inductee Bios

Patricia Price Genovese served as the head women’s lacrosse coach at William Smith College from 1971 until she retired in 2012. Her career record of 385-158-1 lands at number seven on the list of most winningest women’s lacrosse coaches of all-time. Genovese compiled a .709 career winning percentage and collected three IWLCA National Coach of the Year awards. She also led the Herons to 16 NCAA Division III Championship berths, including 11 trips to the semi-finals, and five Championship game appearances. During her career, Genovese coached 26 first-team All-American selections and seven National Players of the Year. She was inducted into the SUNY Cortland Hall of Fame in 1990, the William Smith Athletics Hall of Honor in 1999, and the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2009, the same year she received the IWLCA’s Diane Geppi-Aikens Memorial Award.

Gillian Rattray led Penn State University to three consecutive USWLA National Championships from 1978-1980 and is among the top five winningest women’s lacrosse coaches of all-time by winning percentage (.877). Her career record of 144-19-3 also included appearances in two AIAW National Tournaments and three NCAA Tournaments, including a pair of semi-final appearances in 1983 and 1985. Rattray coached Penn State to winning records in every single season from 1974-1985, including the program’s two undefeated seasons in 1978 and 1979. After retiring from coaching, Rattray served as an Assistant Professor in the College of Health, Physical Education and Recreation at Penn State. She was inducted into the National Field Hockey Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2005 and the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2005. Rattray passed away on December 21, 2017.

Sue Tyler started the women’s lacrosse programs at both Cornell University and the University of Maryland and posted a career record of 196-71-3. She led Maryland to the AIAW championship in 1981 and the NCAA Championship 1986 and holds the distinction as the only Division I coach to win NCAA National Championships in two different sports (field hockey, 1987). Tyler reached the National Championship nine times and was named national Coach of the Year in 1984 and 1986. After retiring from coaching, Tyler transitioned to athletic administration, serving as an Associate Athletic Director at the University of Maryland and as Athletic Director at University of Maine. She was an assistant coach for the U.S. National Team and served on the NCAA women’s lacrosse committee, while also serving in volunteer leadership roles with the USWLA and US Lacrosse. Tyler was inducted into the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1999.