skip navigation

IWLCA Announces Division III Players of the Year

By IWLCA Admin, 06/13/18, 4:00PM EDT


IWLCA Announces 2018 Division III Players of the Year

The IWLCA has announced that four student-athletes have been selected as positional Players of the Year and one has been named the Division III Player of the Year. 

Player of the Year Steph  Colson Gettysburg College Junior  Midfield
Division III Positional Players of the Year      
Goalkeeper of the Year Zoe Ferguson Trinity College Senior Goalkeeper
Attacker of the Year Paige Moriarty Franklin and Marshall College Senior Attack
Midfieder of the Year Steph  Colson Gettysburg College Junior Midfield
Defender of the Year Elizabeth Morrison The College of New Jersey Senior Defense

Steph Colson was named All-America First Team, All-Metro Region First Team, and All-Centennial Conference First Team this season. She set a program and conference record for draw controls in a season with 140, including a program record 14 against Westfield State in the second round of the NCAA Tournament. Colson also led the Bullets in points (76, tied) and ground balls (53), while finishing second in goals (50), assists (26), and caused turnovers (25). The junior capped the season by being named Most Outstanding Performer of the NCAA Championship after leading Gettysburg to its second consecutive national title.

Zoe Ferguson, a two-time All-NESCAC First Teamer, owns the best save percentage in the conference at .532 and has an 8.59 goals against average (3rd in conference) with 189 saves (1st in conference) in 20 games and 1,158 minutes in goal. She was named as the NESCAC Player of the Week once this spring.  A four-year starter and tri-captain this spring, Ferguson was an IWLCA All-American Second Team and All-Berkshire Region First Team honoree in 2017, as well as an IWLCA All-Region First Team selection this spring.

Paige Moriarty is a three-time first team IWLCA All-American. She broke the Franklin & Marshall career points record this year and ended her career with 393 points. Moriarty also broke the assist record this year with 160. She was named the 2018 Centennial Conference Offensive Player of the Year and led Franklin & Marshall to two Final Four appearances. 

Elizabeth Morrison is a four-time All-American and the 2016 National Defensive Player of the Year. She has led the Lions defense that has led the country in scoring defense each of the last four years. Morrison was statistically dominant in 2018, leading the Lions in caused turnovers, ground balls, and draw controls. Morrison was named NJAC Defensive Player of the Year and was the only Division III player named to the 2018 Tewaaraton Award Preseason Watch List.