skip navigation

IWLCA Names 2017 Scholar-Athletes

By IWLCA Admin, 06/19/17, 4:15PM EDT


IWLCA Names 2017 Scholar-Athletes of the Year


The IWLCA named its 2017 Scholar-Athletes of the Year, honoring the top student-athlete in the NCAA Division I, II, and III and the NAIA. Nominees for the award must be a senior or graduate student, have at least a 3.5 cumulative GPA, and be a starter or significant reserve for their team.

Division I – Olivia Hompe, Princeton

The 2017 IWLCA Division I Scholar-Athlete of the Year is Olivia Hompe, a senior attacker at Princeton University. In February Hompe was selected as one of four seniors to enter Princeton’s Scholars in the Nation’s Service Initiative (SINSI), a graduate program where she will spend two years pursuing a master’s degree in the Woodrow Wilson School and two more working in a fellowship with a federal agency. She graduated summa cum laude from the Woodrow Wilson School of Public & International Affairs this spring, and is a three-time academic all-Ivy selection. Hompe finished her career this spring as the all-time leading scorer in Princeton history, amassing 282 points (195 goals and 87 assists) in four years. Serving as a co-captain this year, she led the Tigers to the Ivy League Regular Season and Tournament Championship and a #5 seed in the NCAA Tournament. Hompe was a Finalist for the Tewaaraton Award, named First Team All-Ivy and the Ivy League Attacker of the Year, as well as an IWLCA First-Team All-American.

Division II – Madeline Gilstrap, Rockhurst

Madeline Gilstrap, a senior Biochemistry major (Applied Mathematics minor) student at Rockhurst University, has been named the 2017 IWLCA Division II Scholar-Athlete of the Year. She is a Dean’s list student who graduated summa cum laude, won the Department of Biochemistry award, and was named the Academic Player of the Year for the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference (RMAC). Gilstrap began her lacrosse career in college, trying out for the team during her freshman year. The attacker led the RMAC in assists per game this year and finished the season ranked fourth in the nation in that category after dishing out 51 helpers in 18 games.

Division III – Kristin Patrick, Randolph-Macon

Kristin Patrick of Randolph-Macon College has been named the 2017 IWLCA Division III Scholar-Athlete of the Year. She is a Dean’s list student who graduated magna cum laude with a major in Biology and minors in French, Mathematics, and Chemistry and is a member of the Phi Beta Kappa Society, the Pi Mu Epsilon National Honorary Mathematics Society, the Beta Beta Beta Biological Society, and the Chi Beta Phi National Science Honorary Society. Patrick has received the Stephen H. Watts Award in Biology in 2016, the Douglas W. Foard Phi Beta Kappa Sophomore Award in 2014-2015, and the C. Lydon Harrell Freshman Recognition Award in 2013-2014. She was accepted into the George Washington School of Medicine and Health Sciences Early Selection program and will begin her medical school there in the fall. Patrick was a third-team All-ODAC defender, and was named the ODAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year for women’s lacrosse, after playing in every game of her four-year career.

NAIA – Kadijah Kalo, Lawrence Tech

Lawrence Technological University’s senior midfielder Kadijah Kalo is the 2017 IWLCA Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the NAIA. Majoring in Molecular and Cell Biology, Kalo earned NAIA Scholar-Athlete honors to go along with being named the NAIA National Player of the Year and earning NAIA First-Team All-American honors. She was named the 2017 recipient of the LTU Alumni Association’s Ed Donley Distinguished Graduate Award, which honors one male and one female graduating senior for excellence in academic, community, and campus leadership. Kalo is the first student-athlete to ever win the award. She led LTU to an NAIA National Runner-Up finish this year with 76 goals, 39 assists, 115 points, 87 ground balls, 78 draw controls, 36 caused turnovers and four game winning goals while collecting Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference (WHAC) Offensive Player of the Year, First Team All-Conference, and WHAC All-Academic honors. She will begin Pharmaceutical School in the fall.