skip navigation

IWLCA Welcomes Newly Elected Board Members

By IWLCA Admin, 06/05/24, 11:00AM EDT


Photo courtesy of the IWLCA.

IWLCA Welcomes Newly Elected Board Members

IWLCA President Kelly Gallagher, head coach at the University of Tampa, has announced the election results for the 2024 IWLCA Board of Directors. There were five vacancies contested in this election cycle, including Vice-President, an Executive Committee position, and four Divisional representatives – Division I, II, III, and NAIA. All board members will begin their three-year terms of service on July 1, 2024.

“The Nominating Committee did a great job soliciting candidates for the Board vacancies this year,” Gallagher said. “Two candidates won re-election, and we will also have three outstanding new Board members joining us. I’m excited to work with the Board of Directors and our staff during the upcoming year as we take on some of the challenges in our game and in the overall collegiate athletic ecosystem.”

Gabby Capuzzi Solomon, who previously served as a Division I representative, is the Associate Head Coach at the US Naval Academy. She will begin her three-year term as Vice-President in July. Capuzzi Solomon has previously served the IWLCA membership as a member of the Annual Meeting Planning Committee and the Open Video Exchange Committee.

Bill Olin, Associate Head Coach at Clemson University, was elected as a Division I representative. He has coached at the high school, club, Division I and Division III levels, and will bring his diverse background and unique viewpoints to his service on the Board.

Mackenzie Lawler, the head coach at Grand Valley State University, will serve as the new Division II Representative. Lawler is a current member of the Division II All-American Committee and has previously served as the chair of the Continuing Education Committee. She also serves as an active member of the NCAA Division II Coaches Connection committee and on the NCAA Midwest Regional Advisory Committee.

Kate Livesay, head coach at Middlebury College, was re-elected to a full term as a Division III Representative, after serving a two-year term replacing a departed Board member. She currently serves on the Division III All-American Committee and is also a member of the NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Committee.

Katy Sherman, head coach at Ave Maria University, was re-elected to a full term as an NAIA Representative, after serving a two-year term replacing a departed Board member. She currently serves on the planning committees for the IWLCA’s Multiracial Students Leadership Academy and the Coaching Symposium, as well as the Online Video Exchange Committee.

The IWLCA re-structured the Board of Directors in order to balance Divisional representation in 2017. This structure includes the four officers comprising the Executive Committee, as well as three Representatives from each NCAA Division and one representing the NAIA. The recent update of the IWLCA Bylaws included the addition of the two Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI) representatives. Each member of the Board of Directors will serve a three-year term of office, though Paige’s initial term will be a two-year term so that both DEI directors will not have their terms expire in the same year.

“The IWLCA Board, our staff, and members are grateful for the contributions of our outgoing Board members, Gina Oliver Thomas, Liz Grote, Katie Rhodes Abbott, and Jenny Pawlowski,” Gallagher said. “Their dedication to serving their coaching colleagues and ensuring the ongoing success of the association is commendable and we look forward to formally acknowledging them in person at the 2024 IWLCA Convention in November.”

2024-25 IWLCA Board of Directors (terms begin July 1)




Kelly Gallagher

University of Tampa

IWLCA President

Gabby Capuzzi Solomon

United States Naval Academy

IWLCA Vice-President

Liz Beville

Le Moyne College

IWLCA Secretary

Kelsey Howard

Colby College

IWLCA Treasurer

Sarah Dalton Graddock

University of Vermont

Division I Representative

Jill Batcheller

Villanova University

Division I Representative

Bill Olin

Clemson University

Division I Representative

Akasha Kasper

University of Alabama Huntsville

Division II Representative

Shannon McHale

Colorado Mesa University

Division II Representative

Mackenzie Lawler

Grand Valley State University

Division II Representative

Nora Fallon-Oben

Hartwick College

Division III Representative

Alice Lee

Williams College

Division III Representative

Kate Livesay

Middlebury College

Division III Representative

Katelyn Sherman

Ave Maria University

NAIA Representative

Ashley Holdridge

SUNY Buffalo

DEI Representative

Taylor Paige

University of Virginia

DEI Representative