skip navigation

IWLCA Names 2022 Academic Merit Squads

By IWLCA Admin, 08/02/22, 2:00PM EDT


IWLCA Announces 2022 Academic Merit Squads


The IWLCA has announced 12 teams as 2022 IWLCA Academic Merit Squads, which is a designation awarded to the top three teams in each division with the highest team GPA for the preceding academic year. Each of the winning teams were previously named as an IWLCA Academic Honor Squad.

Brown University posted the highest GPA among the 99 schools in Division I that recorded a team GPA of 3.2 or higher for the academic year. Columbia University and Stanford University followed respectively.

In Division II, Lynn University earned the Merit Squad distinction by beating out 63 other Division II schools that also earned Honor Squad recognition. Slippery Rock was second, while The College of Saint Rose landed in third.

The top GPA in Division III was claimed by Pomona-Pitzer Colleges. The Sagehens led the division by toping 155 institutions. Allegheny College and Massachusetts of Technology followed in that order.

Missouri Baptist University tops the NAIA Merit Squad honorees, registering the highest team GPA of the 13 teams that posted a 3.2 or higher GPA this academic year. Georgetown College and Culver-Stockton College rounded out the top three.


IWLCA Academic Merit Squads

DIVISION I: (1) Brown University, (2) Columbia University, (3) Stanford University       

DIVISION II: (1) Lynn University, (2) Slippery Rock University, (3) The College of Saint Rose        

DIVISION III: (1) Pomona-Pitzer Colleges, (2) Allegheny College, (3) Massachusetts Institution of Technology   

NAIA: (1) Missouri Baptist University, (2) Georgetown College, (3) Culver-Stockton College   


(Division I) Photo courtesy of Brown University Athletics. 

(Division II) Photo courtesy of Lynn University Athletic Communications.

(Division III) Photo courtesy of Pomona-Pitzer Athletic Communications. 

(NAIA) Photo courtesy of MBU Athletic Communications.