skip navigation

IWLCA Elects Five to Join Board of Directors

By IWLCA Admin, 05/26/21, 1:00PM EDT


Vice-President-elect Gina Oliver Thomas;
photo courtesy of University of Cincinnati

IWLCA Elects Five to Join Board of Directors


IWLCA President Liz Grote, the head coach at Bowdoin College, has announced the results of the 2021 IWLCA Board of Directors election. Five vacancies were contested in this election cycle, including one for an Executive Committee position, three for NCAA Divisional representatives, and one to represent the NAIA All new board members will begin their three-year terms of service on July 1, 2021.

“We had an excellent slate of candidates for the vacant Board positions this year,” Grote said. “Those that were elected bring both significant experience in the sport and a commitment to service that will allow them to represent our membership. We’re excited to welcome them to the Board this year as we continue working to provide professional support to our coaches and growing the sport.”

Gina Oliver Thomas, the head coach at University of Cincinnati, was elected as the new IWLCA Vice-President. She most recently served as the keynote speaker for the IWLCA’s Students of Color Coaching Symposium, was a member of the Symposium planning committee, and has previously served on multiple IWLCA and US Lacrosse committees.

Katie Rhodes Abbott, head coach at La Salle University, was elected as a Division I representative. She is currently a member of the Online Video Exchange committee and has previously served on the Division I All-Region committee.

Liz Beville is the head coach at Le Moyne College and will serve as Division II Representative. Beville is an active member of the Awards and Continuing Education committees and is also a voter in the Division II Coaches Poll.

Abi Jackson, head coach at Union College, was elected as a Division III Representative. She is currently a member of the IWLCA’s Racial Equity Task Force and also served on the IWLCA’s Students of Color Coaching Symposium planning committee and as faculty for the symposium.

Brandon Davis, head coach at Georgetown College, was elected as the NAIA Representative. He is currently a member of the IWLCA’s Online Video Exchange committee. He has previously served as President of the NAIA Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association and as the chair of the NAIA Championship Selection committee.

Each of these newly elected members will be serving on the IWLCA Board of Directors for the first time.

The IWLCA re-structured the Board of Directors in order to balance Divisional representation in 2017. The new structure includes the four officers comprising the Executive Committee, as well as three Representatives from each NCAA Division and one representing the NAIA. Each member of the Board of Directors serves a three-year term of office.

“On behalf of our Board members and staff, I’d like to thank outgoing Board members Ricky Fried, Missy Doherty, Dennis Short, MK Geratowski, and Mary Ann Meltzer for their exceptional service to the IWLCA,” Grote said. “Their commitment to the IWLCA and its membership has been unparalleled, and I appreciate their contributions and their camaraderie, especially in the past 18 months.”

2021-22 IWLCA Board of Directors (terms begin July 1)




Liz Grote

Bowdoin College

IWLCA President

Gina Oliver Thomas

University of Cincinnati

IWLCA Vice President

Kelly Gallagher

University of Tampa

IWLCA Secretary

Melissa Lehman

Rutgers University

IWLCA Treasurer

Lauren Morton

Boston University

Division I Representative

Gabby Capuzzi

Ohio State University

Division I Representative

Katie Rhodes Abbott

LaSalle University

Division I Representative

Scott Tucker

Limestone College

Division II Representative

Meghan Dennehy


Division II Representative

Liz Beville

Le Moyne College

Division II Representative

Abi Jackson

Union College

Division III Representative

Susan Stuart-Elliott

Colorado College

Division III Representative

Karrie Moore

Ithaca College

Division III Representative

Brandon Davis

Georgetown College

NAIA Representative