skip navigation

IWLCA Inducts the 2019 Hall of Fame Class

By IWLCA Admin, 11/21/19, 10:00PM EST


The Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) inducted three coaches into the organization’s Hall of Fame this evening. The IWLCA Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony was held in conjunction with the IWLCA Annual Meetings at the Palm Beach County Convention Center in West Palm Beach, Fla.

Diane Geppi-Aikens, Jane Miller, and Robin Sheppard represent the third class of inductees. Colgate University head coach Kathy Taylor, who also serves as the IWLCA President, acted as the Master of Ceremonies for the event. “The Hall of Fame has become one of the highlights of our Annual Meetings, and this year’s event was no exception. Diane, Jane, and Robin are legends in women’s lacrosse, and we were so pleased to be able to honor them and cement their legacy.”

Miller and Sheppard were on hand with several of their former players to accept their award. Diane Geppi-Aikens was recognized posthumously; her daughter, Shannon Quinn, accepted the honor on Geppi-Aikens’ behalf.

2019 Hall of Fame Inductee Bios

Diane Geppi-Aikens served as head coach at Loyola College (now Loyola University Maryland) from 1989-2003, compiling a .736 winning percentage to go with a record of 196-70 that includes 10 NCAA Tournament and seven Final Four appearances. Geppi-Aikens was a three-time IWLCA Division I Coach of the Year honoree (1996, 1997 and 2003) and coached 15 first-team All-American players during her tenure. She served as a member of the NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Committee from 1995-99 and was chairperson of the committee for two years. As a player, Geppi-Aikens was a collegiate standout in lacrosse and volleyball, earning second team IWLCA All-American status following her senior season in 1984. She was the recipient of the Tewaaraton Lifetime Recognition Award in 2001 and received both the NCAA’s Inspiration Award and the ECAC’s Award of Valor in 2003. Geppi-Aikens is a member of both the US Lacrosse Greater Baltimore Chapter and National Lacrosse Hall of Fame. The IWLCA renamed its lifetime achievement award in her honor in 2002. Geppi-Aikens passed away in 2003 and will be inducted posthumously.

Jane Miller coached at the University of Virginia from 1983 to 1995 and posted a 145-44 record during her 12 seasons guiding the Cavaliers. Miller’s teams made six NCAA semi-final appearances and claimed the Championship in both 1991 and 1993. Miller was named the Division I Coach of the Year in 1991 by the IWLCA, coached three IWLCA Players of the Year and was on the staff for Team USA at the 1986 IFWLA World Cup. As an administrator, Miller served on the NCAA Women’s Lacrosse committee for several years and was elected as the chair of the NCAA Division I Championship/Sports Management Cabinet in 2011. She was also the first Senior Women's Administrator appointed to the NCAA Division I Board of Directors, where she participated in the overall governance of NCAA Division I Athletics for three years. Miller began her lacrosse coaching career at Longwood, where she posted a 28-20-2 record over four seasons.

Robin Sheppard coached at Trinity College for 25 seasons, posting a 213-68-5 record and .753 winning percentage, while amassing four NIAC championship titles, seven ECAC tournament appearances, and three NCAA Division III Tournament appearances. She coached 11 first-team All-Americans and received the IWLCA’s Diane Geppi-Aikens award in 2005. After retiring as the coach of Trinity’s lacrosse and field hockey teams, Sheppard served as an associate athletic director at Trinity. She served as the NCAA New England region chair for lacrosse, and the women’s lacrosse and field hockey facility at Trinity is named in her honor.

More event photos to follow.